Our Mission & Vision:

Sappony Baptist Church exists to worship and to serve God.  We do this not only through our church services, but in our interactions with our fellow community members, and by supporting mission activity throughout the world.  We take seriously our duty according to the Great Commission “Go, therefore, and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe everything I have commanded you.  
(Matthew 28:19-20, HCSB).”  

Ministry Team:

Our leadership team exists to glorify God and to serve the members of Sappony Baptist Church.  We recognize our sacred duty to love and to shepherd believers in order to provide an environment conducive to everyone’s personal spiritual growth.  



Rev. Michael Dickey, Pastor

Pastor Mike was born and raised in Kansas, and was baptized at the age of 14.  After joining the Marine Corps, he began serving God in churches where he was stationed.  He served as an AWANA helper, then as the coordinator of the Middle School ministry at his previous church.  He also served as a deacon prior to his call to the gospel ministry.  He was ordained to the gospel ministry in January 2013. Pastor Mike holds a Bachelor of Science in Religion from Liberty University and a Master of Divinity from Wesley Seminary at Indiana Wesleyan University.  He and his wife Tammy have been married since February 14, 1992, and have two grown daughters.
“Repent,” Peter said to them, “and be baptized, each of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins, and you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit.  For the promise is for you and for your children, and for all who are far off, as many as the Lord our God will call.” (Acts 2:38-39, HCSB)


Our History 

David Rideout, Chairman of Deacons
Gerald Lacerte, Deacon
Chuckie Lewis, Deacon
Bob Streetz, Deacon
Kay Lewis, Church Clerk
Nancy Lacerte, Sunday School Director
Anne Lewis, Sunday School Junior Director

What we believe:


Please download our Church Bylaws.